RSS

Gluten & Dairy Free Pumpkin Pie!

28 Nov

This title deserved a “!” because it was delicious! I was my usual self when it came to the recipe I was working with; did I follow it? Not much. My mother was joking at the Thanksgiving dinner table tonight that only 2 of her 4 daughters actually followed recipes. Oh well! One daughter (not me) is gourmet food-obsessed. I’m creative out of necessity, I’m sure you know my struggle. Oh, and since my back is currently causing me extreme pain, I bought the pie crust. Mi-Del brand gluten free graham cracker crust at Woodman’s on a 2 for $5 sale. I’m sure I’ll come up with a recipe for a more delicious one at some point, but today was not that day.

529200_10153590828900226_911620018_n

Pumpkin Pie

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F

Filling (makes enough to fill the pie, and then another cup+ to bake separately in a little Corningware bowl with a streusel top, because this is just too delicious to waste)

Whisk together just under 2 c of pumpkin puree (15 oz can), 2 large eggs + 1 large yolk and 2/3 c. organic brown sugar. 

Add

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp ground black pepper

Mix it up, then add

1 c. of dairy free Rich Whip (1 small carton from frozen section), or 1 c. of Mimicreme or cashew cream

1/2 c. of Silk (or SoDelicious) Eggnog

Whisk until smooth.

Pour into graham cracker crust (don’t fill all the way to the top)

Slide into oven (carefully!) and bake until firm…let it go 50 minutes, then check it…I had to do 70 minutes total.

Let it sit until cool to the touch, then refrigerate for a couple of hours.

Serve with RichWhip and a little pumpkin pie spice on top. It’s delicious, even with a store-bought crust.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 28, 2013 in Dessert

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Gluten & Dairy Free Pumpkin Pie!

  1. Amy

    November 29, 2013 at 5:51 pm

    Should have checked your website for a delicious recipe for pumpkin pie first- but I used a different one, and it also turned out really good…..I made my crust with oat flour- and it actually had a really great consistency!
    Hope you guys had a happy Thanksgiving!
    http://lovelydoesit.com

     

Any thoughts? Click here!

 
The Peaceful Wife

Living in Submission to Christ as Lord

Copyblogger

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Fully Equipped Oasis

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Thin Within

Non-Diet, Grace-Based Approach to Lasting Weight Loss

The Art of Homemaking

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Lattes and late nights - Blog

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Kay's Adaptable Adventures

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

gluten free betsy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

LivingShiny

My observations & musings of living a 'Shiny' Life

Gluten Freely Frugal

The Gluten Free Life.....On a Budget!

Deliciously Dairy Free Recipe Index

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Flourish – King Arthur Flour

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Get Organized Wizard

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

CranialDump

Just another WordPress site

