RSS

Gluten/dairy/refined sugar free doughnuts!

01 Jan

We were invited to a New Year’s Eve party where my husband would finally get to meet all my friends from college! Best. night. ever! I’d forgotten what a fun group we were…and still are, even now that we’re old and married! Now that we’re not crazy college kids anymore, however, some of us have food issues. This inspired me to create what I’ve been craving…doughnuts. Most of my made-up recipes work first try, so I think it was good for me that this one was so frelling difficult. It took me 5 batches to get it right! Please benefit from my frustration by making yourself some delicious doughnuts. Below is a picture of my precious 5th batch…perched victoriously on a mound of failures (it was gigantic) like some culinary king of the mountain, proudly wearing his frosting because, darn it, he earned it! Or, rather, I did. I even added sprinkles later, because I ate that one. The rest I saved for the party. The recipe for the gluten/dairy/refined sugar free frosting will be included on the very bottom of the post…

Image

Gluten/dairy/refined sugar free doughnuts!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and spray your 6-well nonstick doughnut pan

In a small bowl, whisk together

1 1/2 c. cake blend flour

2 slightly rounded tsp of baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

In a larger bowl, using a hand blender, cream together

3/4 c. coconut palm sugar

1/4 c. coconut oil or margarine (I used margarine…I was out of CO from my 4 earlier failures) 

Add and mix

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla (or 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp orange oil)

1/2 c. almond milk (I use So Delicious) 

Add the dry mix to the wet mix in two batches, mixing and scraping down in between.

****I cannot stress this enough…Do NOT overfill your doughnut wells!!!*****

Only fill the wells 1/2 full. Absolutely no more than that. It will feel like it’s not enough, but trust me. You will likely find it easier to put the batter into a plastic bag, cut off the tip, and “pipe” it into the wells. It should make exactly one dozen doughnuts.

Bake for around 20 minutes…until golden and they look like this: 

ImageGluten/dairy/refined sugar free frosting

1 c. unsweetened cocoa (you want a good quality one for this)

1/3 c. raw honey

1/4 c. almond milk

…more almond milk and honey to get the consistency/sweetness just right…taste test. Every person’s preference is different. I like my chocolate DARK.

Use a hand mixer to blend this, but beware the “cocoa POOF!” if you don’t hand mix a little bit to get the cocoa a teeny bit wet beforehand.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 1, 2014 in Dessert

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Any thoughts? Click here!

 
The Peaceful Wife

Living in Submission to Christ as Lord

Copyblogger

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Fully Equipped Oasis

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Thin Within

Non-Diet, Grace-Based Approach to Lasting Weight Loss

The Art of Homemaking

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Lattes and late nights - Blog

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Kay's Adaptable Adventures

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

gluten free betsy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

LivingShiny

My observations & musings of living a 'Shiny' Life

Gluten Freely Frugal

The Gluten Free Life.....On a Budget!

Deliciously Dairy Free Recipe Index

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Flourish – King Arthur Flour

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Get Organized Wizard

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

CranialDump

Just another WordPress site

