RSS

Homemade Taco Seasoning with Penzeys Spices

06 Jan

My husband and I are both sensitive to MSG, and most Taco Seasonings out there have added whey powder…why, I don’t know. But it means I can’t use them! They can also can contain artificial coloring, yeast, sugar, corn, and a TON of salt. No thanks. I’m a big Penzey’s fan because I know I’m getting quality product that hasn’t sat on the back shelf of a warehouse for a few years first. If you can’t get Penzeys where you’re at (although they do have an online store!), I really would recommend investing in good quality spices. It’s not worth it to take a chance that it’s been “cut” with something you’ll react to. If you’re really not into making your own blends, Trader Joe’s Taco Seasoning doesn’t contain whey powder. Penzeys Taco Seasoning, while it doesn’t contain any other “iffy” ingredients, does contain whey, or I’d use it. Maybe it has to do with getting the meat/sauce to a certain consistency. I dunno. Here’s a version that’s basically like every other version of homemade Taco Seasoning…but with a spicy kick that’s exclusively ours! (And no…this post isn’t being funded by Penzeys…I’m just addicted.) This mades a small jar full.

wpid-img_20140828_142555.jpg

Homemade Taco Seasoning

4 Tbsp Chili Powder (regular)

1 tsp Garlic Powder

1 tsp Dried Onions (ground in a mortar/pestle, or use Onion Powder)

1 tsp Northwoods Fire Seasoning (or use crushed red pepper flakes)

1/2 tsp Berbere Seasoning (It’s the spicy kick! Be careful…this stuff is hot!)

1 tsp Turkish Oregano (dried- I use a bit more…I like Oregano)

2 tsp Paprika- Smoked Spanish Style

2 Tbsp Cumin Seed (India Ground)

2 tsp Sea Salt (or less…or none!)

4 tsp Freshly Ground Black Pepper

Throw it all in a small jar with an airtight seal…shake it up and you’re good to go!

For every pound of meat, use 2-3 Tbsp plus 1/2-3/4 c. water. Simmer over medium heat, stirring frequently, until the liquid is nearly gone.

Feel free to double the recipe if you’re hardcore taco-lovers. đŸ™‚

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2014 in How To

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Homemade Taco Seasoning with Penzeys Spices

  1. Te-ge Watts Bramhall

    January 6, 2014 at 3:30 pm

    I love the Berbere seasoning! I use it in everything if I want an added kick. I hadn’t thought about adding it to tacos though. I’ll have to try that next time I make them. đŸ™‚

     
    • potentialredcard21

      December 7, 2014 at 10:10 pm

      I add a sprinkle here and there in everything “Southwest” I make, because my Californian husband loves things spicy.

       

Any thoughts? Click here!

 
The Peaceful Wife

Living in Submission to Christ as Lord

Copyblogger

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Fully Equipped Oasis

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Thin Within

Non-Diet, Grace-Based Approach to Lasting Weight Loss

The Art of Homemaking

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Lattes and late nights - Blog

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Kay's Adaptable Adventures

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

gluten free betsy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

LivingShiny

My observations & musings of living a 'Shiny' Life

Gluten Freely Frugal

The Gluten Free Life.....On a Budget!

Deliciously Dairy Free Recipe Index

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Flourish – King Arthur Flour

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Get Organized Wizard

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

CranialDump

Just another WordPress site

