RSS

Homemade Vegan Yogurt

11 Mar

Hooray! Our first ever guest post by the lovely Mandy Aureli! We met on the So Delicious dairy free group on Facebook (now called Deliciously Dairy Free) and she had the most wonderful recipes and ideas, so I asked if she’d share a few recipes for vegan cheese. The base for it is homemade dairy free yogurt. It is made with soy milk, which I avoid, but I’m sure it’d work well using an almond and coconut milk blend as well, though it makes for a less firm yogurt. Mandy hasn’t used it for cheese, but it’s worth a shot. Keep your eyes peeled for a cheese recipe using this yogurt and let me know how it goes! Now I’ll turn it over to Mandy.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I absolutely LOVE yogurt!! It has so many possibilities, from just eating with some fruit or granola all the way to baking and cooking with it or even making sauces and dips! I know what you’re thinking…you can buy dairy free yogurt in the store. Yes, you can. But one day on my search for a good vegan cheese book I found the book Artisan Vegan Cheese, and not only does it have tons of cheese recipes, it also had a yogurt recipe. That sealed the deal, this book was for me and I had to go home and make yogurt!

20140221_125514

Homemade Dairy Free Yogurt

The night before soak 2/3 cup raw cashews in water.

In your blender put the following and blend till smooth:

1 cup soy milk

2/3 cup soaked and rinsed cashews

In a medium sauce pan put the following and whisk well. Heat to 110 degrees using a food thermometer to check the temperature and whisking occasionally:

3 cups soy milk

Cashew & soy milk mixture from blender

Once soy milk cashew mixture reaches 110 degrees, take off the heat and whisk in:

3 Tbsp of PLAIN non dairy yogurt ( I used So Delicious Plain Cultured Coconut Milk )

Take heated yogurt and put in clean glass containers or jars ( I used old jars I save ). Then cover with plastic wrap and a rubber band. Place in a warm draft free area for over night ( about 12 hours ). I like to put the jars in my microwave; it keep any drafts out and they are out of my way. The next morning you should see cloudy liquid on top of your yogurt, that is a good thing!  You will have a nice batch of plain dairy free yogurt. Take the jars and place in your refrigerator and use as you would like.

Note: This is not a sweet yogurt it will be slightly tart. But you can easily add sweetener as you take a portion out to use it. Adding fruit is a great way not only to eat it but to sweeten it.

20140306_152420

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2014 in How To, Reference

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “Homemade Vegan Yogurt

  1. Rachel

    March 17, 2014 at 1:51 pm

    What?! I haven’t been able to make dairy yogurt work yet homemade but I may need to try this.

     
  2. Teri Miller

    November 29, 2014 at 6:58 pm

    I love Mandy, you are right, she has the best ideas and recipes!! I’m on her Deliciously Dairy Free site – and get such great help from her and other folks there. I’ve done this yogurt and give it an A+++!! Thanks for having her on your blog!

     
    • potentialredcard21

      December 5, 2014 at 7:14 pm

      She was a pleasure to work with! I’m on the DDF site myself, and I love all the recipe ideas I get, as well as the help and support of the dairy-free family! Thank you for your comment, Teri!

       

Any thoughts? Click here!

 
The Peaceful Wife

Living in Submission to Christ as Lord

Copyblogger

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Fully Equipped Oasis

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Thin Within

Non-Diet, Grace-Based Approach to Lasting Weight Loss

The Art of Homemaking

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Lattes and late nights - Blog

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Kay's Adaptable Adventures

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

gluten free betsy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

LivingShiny

My observations & musings of living a 'Shiny' Life

Gluten Freely Frugal

The Gluten Free Life.....On a Budget!

Deliciously Dairy Free Recipe Index

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Flourish – King Arthur Flour

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Get Organized Wizard

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

CranialDump

Just another WordPress site

