RSS

The Best Vegan Mozzarella ever and a great GF crust to put it on

01 May

Ever wished you could still have cheese on your pizza, on your nachos, in your lasagna, quesadilla, grilled “cheese” or macaroni? As a former cheese addict, I’m definitely in that boat. I tried all kinds of vegan cheeses, much to my discouragement. They were all absolutely…well…gross, to be perfectly honest. I remember putting cheese on a quesadilla, and even with heavy seasoning, I threw it in the trash after one bite (that didn’t even end up getting swallowed, it was that wretched).

I must admit, when I was given Teese vegan mozzarella to try, I was tentative. When I took it out of the fridge and grated it, I was still tentative. It was very moist cheese, and I didn’t want my pizza to be a soggy mess, as so many gluten free, vegan pizzas turn out to be. I sprinkled it over the top of pepperoni, sauce, and a great crust I’ll tell you about in a minute, shook some Penzey’s Frozen Pizza Seasoning over it, and stuck it in the oven at 450 degrees F for 18 minutes. I have never been so pleasantly surprised in my life. It melted very well and even browned a bit. My first hesitant bite was heaven. My husband laughed a bit as I sat there and raved over how good it was, and then tried his and he agreed! He doesn’t have any allergies, and pizza is his favorite food, so I was shocked that even HE loved it! I’m never using another vegan cheese if it isn’t from Teese! I felt like I had my first REAL pizza in almost two years! Not only that, but I reheated the few leftovers the next day in my toaster oven and it was JUST AS GOOD!

Teese contains no gluten, wheat, dairy, soy, palm oil, peanuts, or tree nuts.

It comes in four flavors;

two are sauces (nacho cheese, which is completely fabulous, and creamy cheddar cheese, perfect for macaroni!)

and two are sliceable and shreddable (mozzarella and cheddar-the two I miss most!).

Here’s a map of where to find it in your state, or buy it online!

1902733_10154125735710226_3790623089130615639_n

 

Since pizza is my husband’s favorite food, I’ve experimented a lot with it since going gluten free. Most crusts either crumble, get soggy, taste horrible, or end up like crackers; hard and flavorless. This one tasted very normal, held up great to the toppings, and didn’t have that distinctive “gluten free” flavor. It was also incredibly easy to mix up and form. This crust mix isn’t available in stores, but through Tastefully Simple’s new gluten free line! Check it out here! The sauce mix powder that comes with it contains dairy, but the crust does not. I just used a spaghetti sauce I had and spiced it up a bit.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 1, 2014 in Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “The Best Vegan Mozzarella ever and a great GF crust to put it on

Any thoughts? Click here!

 
The Peaceful Wife

Living in Submission to Christ as Lord

Copyblogger

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Fully Equipped Oasis

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Thin Within

Non-Diet, Grace-Based Approach to Lasting Weight Loss

The Art of Homemaking

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Lattes and late nights - Blog

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Kay's Adaptable Adventures

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

gluten free betsy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

LivingShiny

My observations & musings of living a 'Shiny' Life

Gluten Freely Frugal

The Gluten Free Life.....On a Budget!

Deliciously Dairy Free Recipe Index

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Flourish – King Arthur Flour

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Get Organized Wizard

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

CranialDump

Just another WordPress site

