RSS

Smart Flour- a wise decision

31 Jul

Smart Flour Foods, with their mod label and cute, nerdy mascot, may seem a little too trendy for the “serious” gluten free crowd, but when it comes to food, it’s no joking matter. This company has taken ancient grains and given them a modern twist that has the masses calling for more. I was the lucky recipient of pizza crusts, a frozen pizza, pancake/waffle mix, hamburger buns, and all-purpose flour, and I was incredibly impressed by all of it! Their products are free of gluten/wheat, egg, soy, and rice. Their original pizza crust is free of dairy, casein, and nuts as well.

Unknown

Let’s tackle the pizza first. My system can’t handle cheese, but luckily, it’s my husband’s favorite food. The Garden Margherita Pizza disappeared in record time, and for a man who can eat all the gluten he wants, he was very impressed, and I was happy to know the milk is hormone-free! It definitely made the house smell amazing. You can even get it in flavors like Classic Cheese and Uncured Pepperoni (vegetarian fed!). I made myself a pizza with goat cheese, and I was beyond thrilled to put one of the tastiest gluten free crusts I’ve ever had (and I’ve had a LOT…pizza is a staple in our house) in my mouth. I was a little stunned to feel like I was eating “real pizza” for the first time in a long time. I probably ate an entire pizza myself, without shame. They come in a frozen 2-pack, and that’s the way it should be. You’ll want more than 1 crust.

wpid-img_20140605_121854.jpgwpid-img_20140608_193452.jpg

 

Their gluten free hamburger buns are impossibly light and fluffy, and I used it for a tuna sandwich and felt like I was eating “real” bread! Not sure how they do it, but I wish I were a fly on the wall in their kitchen. I’ve been saving my other one for a special occasion.

wpid-img_20140523_142052.jpg

 

Pancake mix- I’ll admit, I’m not a huge fan of pancakes, but waffles are another story entirely. I went online to look up their recipe for using the mix for waffles (it involves whipping egg whites), and made (hands down) the most fluffy, non-weird-tasting, delicious gluten free waffle I’ve had since going gluten free. No other mix I’ve tried has even come close. Do be warned; there is milk powder in the mix, but it didn’t bother my stomach, which rocked.

wpid-img_20140704_092456.jpgwpid-img_20140704_095816.jpg

 

Today, I made gluten free chocolate chip cookies (our secret family recipe) with their all-purpose flour. It’s a signature composition of sorghum, amaranth, and teff flours, which offer a higher nutritional profile than traditional gluten free flour combinations, so you know you’re not just eating empty calories. The cookies turned out extremely tasty, not gritty or “bean-y”, but the cookies were quite fragile, so be careful (although it could be because these are shortening based cookies)! Definitely bake any cookies on parchment so they release easily, and cool completely before removing.

wpid-img_20140712_175119.jpg

 

You can get any of these products online, at these locations, and even order a combo kit to try a bunch of different things! You can even check to see if your favorite restaurant uses their products!

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 31, 2014 in Reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Any thoughts? Click here!

 
The Peaceful Wife

Living in Submission to Christ as Lord

Copyblogger

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Fully Equipped Oasis

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Thin Within

Non-Diet, Grace-Based Approach to Lasting Weight Loss

The Art of Homemaking

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Lattes and late nights - Blog

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Kay's Adaptable Adventures

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

gluten free betsy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

LivingShiny

My observations & musings of living a 'Shiny' Life

Gluten Freely Frugal

The Gluten Free Life.....On a Budget!

Deliciously Dairy Free Recipe Index

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Flourish – King Arthur Flour

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Get Organized Wizard

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

Food for the Temperamental Tummy

CranialDump

Just another WordPress site

